An Important Update Considering More Security Features From July 2021
Youtube has brought a major change from 23 July 2021, all the unlisted videos will be switched to private. On 1st January 2017 youtube had brought an update to the system that generates new unlisted links which include security enhancement.
How can you check which of your videos are impacted after this update?
To check this Sign in to your Youtube channel and go to Youtube studio select the content from the left side menu, then in filters – select visibility, invisibility select unlisted, and then sort by date see which of your videos are uploaded before 1st January 2017. There won’t be an issue with the video that has been uploaded on or after 1st January 2017.
Is the option available for the legacy of unlisted videos which is uploaded before 1st January 2017
1) What happens with your older videos that turned private?
The problem in these circumstances is that if you had posted any unlisted old video in a blog, website or app it would no longer be available to watch.People who had a link to your video will no longer be able to watch or share it.
2) If you choose to turn your unlisted impact videos as public :
If you turn your unlisted videos public, your video will be available for anyone using youtube. Video will be available in search results or recommendations, video URL will remain the same, and engagements of video such as video likes, views, and comments will not be affected while changing to public . But if it’s the first in making video as public view notification will be sent to your subscribers. This can be done by going to youtube studio, select the content from the left side menu, then turn on visibility, select as public and save the change.
3) Reupload the impacted videos to benefit from security updates:
Reuploading the impacted videos will get a new URL and your original video becomes private, once the update happens, engagement such as views, likes, comments of the original video cannot be retained for reuploaded video